Cream Tea, Always.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

DOM 3

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

 

I’m someone who is very partial to a bit of weekend baking. I definitely gave the cupcake trend my full support and I have a number of pretty recipe books sitting on my bookshelf. But there’s one type of baked good that I’ve never tried my hand at; the humble scone.

 

Although, of course, I’ve had a number of cream teas in my time – it’s practically a ritual whenever you visit a National Trust property, but I’ve not thought of whipping up some of my own before. I think I was always a bit too preoccupied with creating a perfectly frosted cupcake! This selection were thrown together on a chilly Sunday evening and were surprisingly easy to make. They might not be the prettiest of cakes and bakes but they’re a classic English treat. Sadly though, we were lacking in cream, that’s what happens when you rush to the shops just before closing on a Sunday!

 

Still, with a cup of tea in hand and bit of jam they were pretty damn good, if I do say so myself. I’ll have to see what else I get up to in my kitchen, in case it’s something a bit more interesting than my usual pasta based dishes. Although, I have just realised how un-photogenic my poor kitchen is!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Cream Tea, Always.

  1. Oh wow they look so delicious! ❤

    Like

  2. I’m intrigued. I’ve never heard of cream teas before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

