Cafe Kino – The Vegan Dream

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Other than my one time three-week-long foray into vegetarianism, my eating habits have been very normal. I’m not particularly fussy and I don’t have any weird habits – I’m fairly average when it comes to consumption. However as I said in my previous post, Bristol has a habit of opening your eyes to different ways of life that you wouldn’t necessarily be exposed to in other cities. Now I’m not talking anything ground breaking in this case, it’s only the local vegan café down the road.

Café Kino is a vegan cooperative run by a very dedicated team of local Bristolians. Every part of Kino is exactly on point. From the décor, to the community style tables, the tiled floor (I can never resist!) to the fab range of salads. They have almost every type of milk under the sun including almond, soya and oat which I’m yet to try but have high hopes for. I’m a fan of a flat white, especially one that has the sweet and nutty taste of almond milk. Should you happen to want something more substantial then I cannot even tell you what the falafel is like. UH-mazing.

What’s great about Kino is the amount of light it lets in. The huge clear windows at the front that open out onto the heart of Stokes Croft make it possibly the best people watching spot. The café also has its fingers on the pulse of the community and has a downstairs space that is used by local groups and the odd bit Life Drawing; something I’m very keen to get back into after my A-Level art days gone by.

I think I’ve gone to town singing the praises of this little local gem, probably in a manner that’s not all that cool and definitely a bit nerdy. But ya know what? Chilling in Kino kinda makes me feel cool. And that’s that really.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Cafe Kino – The Vegan Dream

  1. That place is so perfect. I would be a regular if I lived close by.

    Like

Leave a Reply

