Happy in the Now

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I am a classic over-thinker. I mull things over and I question things that don’t really need to be questioned. I think about things from the past and worry if I’ve made the right choices and the big ‘what if…’ comes up a lot of the time. As you can imagine, this takes up a large amount of thought space – space that is better left in a somewhat more tranquil state.

I don’t necessarily consider thinking about your choices and your life in general a bad thing. I always like to think that it will only lead you to make better choices in the future, but negative thinking about things that you can’t change is mostly a waste of time and energy. Something I’m trying very hard to adopt into my daily life is remembering the things that make me happy right now, and enjoy life day-by-day. Often negativity can creep up on you suddenly, and personally for me it only leads to a disappointing day of ‘God, my job is boring. I hate my flat. What am I even doing here?!’ The key here is not to dwell too much – easier said than done but still, it’s worth it to try and remember the day before when everything was fine and dandy and I went to bed fully ready for the next day.

At this weird stage in my life, having just graduated and attempting to find the right road to travel down, negative thoughts do sometimes pile up and hit you all of a sudden, and it can be difficult to sift out the ones that are irrelevant and the ones that could help you move in the right direction. My friends are currently doing such a huge range of different things, from living back at home and working in a shop, to continuing with their studies, to landing the dream job. I feel I’ve landed somewhere in the middle of all this, having struggled to find a job in my chosen industry, and since started a job with a lot of potential to move forwards; the decision not to move home and instead move to a city that is completely new to me, was difficult at first but is working out okay now. This is my current situation and for the majority of the time I am perfectly happy, and proud even, to have made the choices that brought me here. The occasional thought about how my life would have been so much easier and possibly even a bit more fun if I’d moved back in with my parents and worked in a bar for the last year, but that is not what I chose to do, so where’s the sense in carrying on with that train of thought? In the words of Tay Swifty, I try to shake it off and get back on the positivity wagon.

I’ve accompanied this post with some photos of my last weekend in Devon. As previously mentioned (time and again, I’m sure you’ve got the memo by now!) but the sea is my thinking spot and so why not feature a few with this slightly more thoughtful post. Perhaps that’s even where it stemmed from – I was subconsciously inspired not to dwell on the past but the powerful element of the sea. Then again, I’m probably just over-thinking it. Classic.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

