Just a Few Days in Rome

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Compared to last week I’m currently feeling about ten times cooler than I did in a few of these photos. I’m talking heat wise anyway. For the last week or so Italy has been having a heatwave and oh lordy I was hot. Despite re-wearing my loosest dress for most of the week, I still ended most days as a bit of a sweaty mess (ew…)

But despite the slight distraction of squinting against the sun (I promise I’m not complaining, it was far nicer than the weather I came home to!) it’s safe to say that Rome is one of the most beautiful European cities I’ve been to. Its status as one of the oldest cities in the world is reflected in the architecture and the tiny bumpy cobbled streets. I did seem to spend most of my time falling over the cobbles, too busy looking at the beautiful buildings and statues around me. I spent a lot of time walking around and muttering ‘how did they build that?!’ – Which is of course the age old question when it comes to anything built before the times of cranes and power tools. But still, the Romans took it to another level with buildings like the Colosseum and the Pantheon.

Not wanting to do the same thing as every other tourist, we tried to hit a balance of looking at the most important historical sites, and then just generally exploring the city. This was also due to the melting heat and the fact this is my only trip this summer (so far anyway!) and we wanted to just take it easy. Rome is a very easy city to do that in. If you don’t include the hordes of tourists then it’s got a very laid back vibe, perfect for wandering at your own leisure.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Just a Few Days in Rome

  1. Great photos Becca, it looks like you’ve been having a lovely time! – Tasha

    Like

  2. Great post! I like how you explored both tourists sights and took it at your own pace to wander around the city — that’s the best way to see Rome 🙂

    http://www.mintnotion.com

    Like

  3. Pingback: Heat-Proof Holiday Beauty | Girl Globalising

  4. Pingback: 2016’s Travel Wishlist | Girl Globalising

Leave a Reply

