Sorrento Stole my Heart.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I don’t think I’ve ever visited a place and it’s been exactly, to-the-point, how I imagined it to be. I mean I’ve liked a lot of cities and countries – I’ve really really like some of them (Barcelona I’m looking at you). But I think Sorrento is the first place I’ve been to that was exactly how I imagined it would be.

The journey to actually get to Sorrento was stressful. From Rome to Naples we were on a nice, cool, air conditioned high speed train. Not so stressful you must be thinking? Well, due to a closure on the Naples metro system, we then had to trek through the city centre and down to the port, in the midday heat, with our backpacks. I’ve never missed my wheel-y suitcase so much! But eventually we got there and, although my face said a different story, getting the boat across to Sorrento was the perfect way to arrive.

Sorrento itself was a beautiful little Italian town. We were on the very cusp of the summer season so things were getting pretty busy, but that didn’t stop us from wandering the tiny lanes, popping in and out of shops, and trying the towns famous Limoncello. Compared to our much busier previous days in Rome, then Sorrento was just the perfect chill time.

Although not the cheapest of day trips, I can recommend getting the boat across to Capri. Like Sorrento it was an equally beautiful Italian coastal town, although slightly more favoured by the rich and famous and judging by the yachts floating around the harbour they were all out sunning themselves! A trip back to Sorrento and the surrounding areas is definitely needed – we didn’t get a chance to visit Pompei or Almalfi or Postiano, which as pinterest tells me, is the most beautiful of all.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Sorrento Stole my Heart.

  1. Wonderful photos it has the essence like those young adult novels I would read about summer trips and falling in love… Being young and traveling ancient towns… The pictures just make it feel like I’m there with you! Safe travels!

    Like

Leave a Reply

