Independently Published.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

For longer than I will ever admit to anyone I have spent far too much money on magazines. From my childhood pocket money, earnt by managing to keep my bedroom from looking like a Barbie massacre had occurred, to my hard earned barista wages – if I didn’t have a hardcore magazine habit I could possibly be very rich by now.

But I have no regrets, I love spending my time and money on a number of great publications and I probably always will. It’s the combination of words and design that keep me coming back on a weekly or monthly basis, ready for all the fresh new content that’s been carefully curated and beautifully put together. Of course, some were not so carefully chosen and far more to do with my need to know what’s going on in Kim K’s life (I am not ashamed). On the whole, although I’ll never say never to another celebrity mag, my tastes have improved and matured enough to move on to a totally different kettle of published fish. The independent titles.

photo

I first came across these publications by finding Cereal magazine and even then I think it was only through my publishing course and proximity to Bristol, the mags birth place, that I heard about it. This was then followed by a long Insta-stalk before finally getting my keen little hands on a copy of my own. Primarily a travel mag, it’s mostly a combination of beautiful photography and articles about places that are now secured on my ‘Must Visit’ list. They also have really fab little guides for a number of cities, with the best and most stylish places to sleep, eat, see and shop – all can be found on their equally stylish website.

So what started as a one independent magazine habit quickly turned into more when Suitcase mag came trotting happily into my life. Another Travel + Fashion themed beauty of a publication that has a style closer to your traditional fashion mags, but even more pretty and interesting to read. If you’re anything like me a quick flick through these pages will induce a wanderlust so bad that you immediately start checking flight prices and finding a fab Airbnb. Ahhh to be able to just fly away…

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

The final mag from my little selection here is another new one to me. Unlike the others this is a free journal covering multiple areas across South East London. Since I hail from this particular region and having heard about its growing regeneration, this little publication is far better than any local newspaper. Not only am I excited to see something far more interesting design-wise, but all the contributors are actually from the SE neighbourhoods too and promoting any independent coffee shops or smaller fashion outlets is something I’m very keen to support. I mean, can you get much more authentic. It’s making me think I should throw my hat into the ring for the next issue.

As far as my magazine habit goes I’m also looking to get hold of Betty magazine, maybe even a copy of Frankie too just to boast my collection and give more than a little inspiration for when I’m lacking. Are there any other titles I should keep an eye out for?

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Independently Published.

  1. I am guilty of this myself Becca! I’ve always been addicted to magazines, even going so far as to ending up sniffing the pages – I love the smell of printed paper, haha! I used to read a lot of things like Glamour but I recentyl discovered one called Land Love which is mainly a rural magazine, but the photos are stunning. I need to have a look at Cereal as it looks interesting. Some other nice ones I used to love were Dazed and Confused and i-D magazine – a bit pricer but if you like art they’re stunning. – Tasha

    Like

    • Haha Tasha! I used to buy all the cheaper weekly mags but I think the slightly more expensive ones have such beautiful photography that they’re worth the bit extra. I’m definitely going to look out for Dazed and Confused as well 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, definitely agree! I’m a reformed magazine addict now, I think the student years cured me of it, but whenever I see a good wildlife magazine I occasionally cave in 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

