How to ‘Keep Your Chin Up’

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I feel like we’ve hit the time of year, between the end of autumn and the start of proper winter, when you’ve lost the joy and nostalgia of autumn but not yet in full festive swing of December. It’s a tough time of year. Maybe you’re saving all your pennies for Christmas, or maybe you’re trying to dodge the never ending rain that we seem to get this time every year. Whatever the case may be, it can be hard to ‘keep your chin up’, to coin my Mum’s favourite phrase. Here are a few ideas that I like to make sure I do each week, or whenever I feel I need a little cheering up and setting back upright.

  1. Fresh Air

Fresh air can really do wonders for you. It clears your head, helps you feel freer and if it’s particularly windy it can give you some nice rose-y cheeks that make you look like the picture of health even if you’re feeling the opposite. Whatever it is that’s worrying you, just leave it where it is and go for a brisk walk. When you get back you’ll have a clearer mind, a new perspective and things won’t seem so bad.

  1. Get Active, Stay Healthy

Similar to getting some fresh air a little bit of exercise can really help when you’re feeling less than energised. Going for a run or trying out a new gym class can really take your mind off what’s bothering you and by the end you’ll be left feeling ten times better for it. Likewise with staying healthy – I will admit that I sometimes don’t practise what I’m preaching here. For me when I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed/stressed/sad, whatever the feeling, I have a really bad habit of thinking the answer is in the bottom of an ice cream tub. IT’S NOT and I guarantee I always feel worse after. It’s time to learn my lesson and go for a banana instead.

  1. Treat Yo’ Self

This may sound like I’m contradicting myself here but the key is to find other things to treat yourself with. There’s no sense in pushing yourself more and more when your unhappy – it’s time to take a step back, have a bath, buy that new bag you’ve been looking at for months or go to the cinema. Whatever you think you would make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside is exactly what you should do right now. Treat yo’ self!

  1. Friends

I don’t mean the TV show here, although that is also a sure-fire way of creating a happy atmosphere too. The worst thing you can do when you’re feeling sad is make yourself sad and alone. Invite some friends round, have a catchup, have some wine and maybe even a cry. By the end of the evening you’ll be really glad you did and you’ll probably have laughed more than you ever thought you would at this point.

  1. Set a Goal

This is not something that I do on a weekly basis, but have a think about something you really want to achieve and work out the steps to get you there. Maybe it’s a career goal, a personal goal, a fitness goal, or maybe you really want to go travelling in the near future. Break it down into small small steps and complete them every week, until you get to the end goal. You might learn something along the way, or the goal might even change. But change can definitely be a good thing, you just gotta get going!

These are just a few little ideas that I like to think about occasionally. My favourites are #1 and #4, possibly even #5 too. What are your tips and tricks to keeping a smile on your face? Let me know if there are any other points I should include!

image

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

