The Freshest Chai Tea

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

It was around this time last year that I truly discovered chai tea. I’d heard of it of course, seen it on many a coffee shop menu but it just never appealed to me so much that I actually ordered one. And I honestly can’t say what changed my mind one day, perhaps I’d already had one too many coffee’s and needed something different. But so started my love of the cinnamon-y, spicey drink that brings the festive feeling like no other can – except perhaps the ol’ mulled wine!

Although day to day I get my fix from a box of Pukka Vanilla Chai tea, sometimes it’s nice to get back to basics and make it yourself. And it really couldn’t be easier with just a few store cupboard ingredients needed. I got this recipe from a video by the fab Estee Lalonde, you can watch it here, but I’ve simplified it right down to the basics here:

  1. Grab one/two cups of water, depending on how much tea you can drink, and add a teaspoon of both Nutmeg and Ginger. Throw in a cinnamon stick and boil for around five minutes.
  2. Add a small cap of vanilla essence and two normal everyday tea bags. Brew for a few more minutes and then strain into your favourite mug.
  3. Add some milk and maybe some sugar if you like things a little bit sweeter, and then enjoy!

It’s really that simple. Obviously it takes slightly longer and it’s not really an everyday kinda thing, but it’s nearly Christmas so treat yourself!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

