My Year in Books

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

At the start of the year I made what I thought was a fairly realistic resolution – to read one book a month for the whole year. One year, twelve books, it seemed perfectly doable and I was so up for it. As a child I always, always had my nose in a book and most of the time I didn’t leave the house without one under my arm. I loved a journey somewhere that gave me enough time to get through a few chapters. And then something happened, I guess it just comes down to life, exams, uni, friends came up over the top of sitting down with a good read and like exercise it’s so much harder to start again once you’ve stopped.

So actually I have a rather measly pile of books to share with you here, but in the spirit of rounding things up at the end of the year I thought I would go through them – and then probably start again in the New Year!

  1. The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald

I fully intended on reading this book before I went to see the film. That came out in 2013, so already do you see where I’m coming from? Nevertheless I finally got around to reading it and it was worth the effort of picking it up and down for the first couple of months of the year.

  1.  Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? – Mindy Kaling

This is Mindy’s first book offering and it was a treat! First of all, I just love her and The Mindy Project and so was bound to read her book as soon as I could. It is of course, fabulous and if you’re not already a fan of the sassy lady then you will be by the final page.

  1. The Life Changing Magic of Tidying – Marie Kondo

I have a confession. I did not finish this book. I gave it a good go and it definitely spurred me on to throw out/tidy my flat. This may have also been a coincidence of my impending move but plenty of bin bags have been filled.

  1. When we Were Bad – Charlotte Mendelson

This was the book that was going to get me back on track. I took it on holiday with me and planned on finishing it within the week. It didn’t happen but it fully reminded me of why I to loved reading so much, when you can get so lost in a story that you suddenly look up and hours have flown by. If you like more contemporary novels about modern day families and all the trouble they go through, then this is definitely one to get your hands on.

  1. Get The Glow – Madeleine Shaw

I’m mean, come on. This isn’t even a reading book! I had to include it here, not only because the pile looked so small without it, but because I did actually read it. I fully bought into the hype around Madeleine Shaw and getting ‘The glow’ but I have to say, out of all the new health books released in 2015 this is one of the best. It’s gluten, sugar and dairy free but the recipes look (and taste) so good that you suddenly realise what’s possible without those ingredients. I’ll definitely be using this book A LOT in 2016.

  1. The Decision – Penny Vincenzi

This. This monster of a book was actually last year’s Christmas present. It was gifted to me from my Mum, at my request of ‘a really good book to get me back into reading’. I think she took that to mean the biggest book you can find. I’m still making my way through it, it’s eight hundred-odd pages!

All in all my resolution went out the window in about February when I was still on my first book. I thought I could pick things up when Mindy’s hilarious offering but nope, it slowed right down again. I will without a doubt start this resolution again in 2016, especially as I plan on reading three books from three awesome ladies first – here, here and here. Let’s see if the reading bug will truly bite back next year…

Ps. I hope you liked my cheeky little Santa at the top!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

