Feeling Twenty-Three…

image

image

image

I’ve titled this post purely because I’m mourning the fact I can no longer legitimately sing Taylor Swift. This day has come around quickly and it’s hard to believe it was just a year ago I was wandering along Weston-Super-Mare pier and getting ready for my first day at work, at my first proper post-uni job. This week marked my twenty-third birthday and I celebrated in just the right way. It started at the weekend, and with the arrival of one of my oldest and closest friends. She and her boyfriend came over for the weekend and we showed them the sights of Bristol. I always feel it’s a good way to remind you of what you draws you to a place, when you show someone new around and almost see it through their eyes.

We shopped around town, had lunch in one of my favourite places, Bagel Boy, which is also one of Bristol’s most loved local chains with a few locations popping up across the city. This was followed by a swift walk up Park Street and onto one of my favourite places in town, Brandon Hill. On a nostalgic note, this is where I often used to come for a bit of fresh air and to clear my mind back in my unemployed days. Ah memories…

As it was also my friends birthday on the Sunday our evening meal out was in joint celebration of us both turning one year older and wiser, and swiftly followed by some drinks and a card game or two. After spending many years at uni going out and partying with big groups of people, followed by waking up feeling more than a little worse for wear, it was so lovely to spend some quality time with loved ones and something a little more low key.

image

imageimage

After brunch prepared by my boyfriend and me (it was cracking, in case you were wondering) Sunday was spent at the Arnolfini, one of Bristol’s biggest art galleries and they are always bound to have something interesting on show. A quick coffee stop at another of my favourite’s, Spicer & Cole – the riverside location as it’s always a bit quieter and there’s less yummy mummy’s than the Clifton branch. Sadly that brought us to the end of the weekend and my friends had to make their way back to the Big Smoke.

That was not the end of the celebrations though! Oh no, you see, as my company is nice enough to give you the day off on your birthday I gratefully took it and spent the day with my boo. It was a gloriously sunny day and we spent it walking in the park, drinking coffee and eating cake and then… Well a surprise was pulled out of the bag as we headed across country to picturesque Bath and the Thermae Bath Spa. I have been before, but I have to admit that visiting the rooftop pool at sunset is my all time favourite visit.

It’ safe to say that I have been throughly spoiled over the last few days, not to mention the upcoming present of a macaron making class in a few months time! Normally around these times of year, birthday’s, new year, season’s change, I can get a little down and out. I reckon it’s something to do with the nostalgia as well as the unknown. It just makes me uneasy. And there might be a tiny bit of that lingering (read here), but actually for the most part I feel really great. There have been a few realisations recently that the people in my life are really really great. I want to see more and more of them and I just have this feeling that 23, I hope, will be the best yet.

image

image

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Feeling Twenty-Three…

  1. Pingback: January in Review | Girl Globalising

Leave a Reply

